top of page

Royal Highland Show 2023

Sale date |

Associated event |

Item Title

Venue |

Item Title


Archie and John MacGregor, Allanfauld, Kilsyth, secured the breed championship at this year’s Royal Highland, winning the title for the fourth time, with a home-bred one-crop ewe, sired by a £30,000 McCurdy tup. Shown by David Kinloch and Robert Flett, she is out of a ewe by a £32,000 Midlock, one of 1200 Blackface ewes in the family’s flock. 

Finishing reserve was the male champion from the Wight family, Midlock, Crawford, a two-shear ram bought for £19,000 from Tullykeeran and shared with the Dalchirla and Nunnerie flocks. He is sired by a £16,000 Elmscleugh and out of a ewe by £160,000 Elmscleugh.

Reserve male went to Malcolm Coubrough, Hartside, Lamington, with the £48,000 Allanfauld tup, bought as a lamb last year. Sired by £30,000 Nunnerie, he is shared with the Harestone and Allanfauld flocks, as the MacGregors retained a third share of him.

Reserve female was a gimmer on her first outing, from the Midlock team. A daughter of £30,000 Nunnerie, she is out of a ewe by £24,000 Connachan. Midlock went on to win the Overshiels Trophy for the exhibitor gaining the most points.

Judge, John MacPherson, Balliemeanoch, Dalmally, said he thoroughly enjoyed judging a ‘top class show of stock’, adding ‘the champion is as good a sheep as I’ve seen at the Highland, she is very bonny and a tremendous all-round ewe’.


Class results

Ram – three shear and over

1st Firm of Shawhead Farm, 2nd Norman Mitchell

Ram – two shear

1st J Wight & Son, 2nd W Ramsay & Son, 3rd Finlay Robertson, 4th Malcolm Coubrough, 5th K, A & R Campbell, 6th DC & JJ Marshall.

Shearling Ram

1st Hartside Farms, 2nd J Wight & Sons, 3rd J R MacGregor ( Dyke) Ltd, 4th Matthew Hamilton, 5th DC & JJ Marshall, 6th J B Pate & Son.

Ram Lamb

1st J B Pate & Son, 2nd A & A Provan, 3rd Colin C MacArthur & Co, 4th Gavin Donald, 5th Matthew Hamilton, 6th Maol Fold A & L Prentice


1st A MacGregor (Allanfauld) Ltd, 2nd J Wight & Sons, 3rd & 4th W Ramsay & Sons, 5th S McClymont & Son 6th Matthew Hamilton

Ewe (Unshorn)

1st Colin MacArthur & Co, 2nd A MacGregor (Allanfauld) Ltd, 3rd Maol Fold A&L Prentice, 4th J R MacGregor (Dyke) Ltd


1st & 2nd J Wight & Sons, 3rd W Ramsay & Sons, 4th Culdoach Farm, 5th Gavin Donald, 6th Hartside Farms

Ewe Lamb

1st Gavin Donald– winning the Angus McTaggart Perpetual Trophy, 2nd J Wight & Sons, 3rd A MacGregor (Allanfauld), 4th Aitkenhead Farm, 5th Firm of Shawhead, 6th A & A Provan

bottom of page